pic credit: [email protected]

Five-time Wimbledon champion Novak Djokovic will be staying out of action in upcoming event of Rogers Cup 2019, starting from August 5th till August 11th. This came after the four-time Rogers Cup title winner had claimed that he needs more time to recover after the biggest Wimbledon tournament of his career.

While announcing his withdrawal from the grand tournament, Serbian star said, “I’m sorry to announce that I decided to pull out of Rogers Cup. With the support of my team, I have decided to give my body longer rest and recovery time before coming back again to play”. Novak had won the prestigious Roger Cup’s title in both the cities Montreal and Toronto. In Montreal, he clinched 2007 and 2011 editions while in Toronto Djokovic marked 2012 and 2016 season with successful wins

Earlier this month, Djokovic added one more golden feather to his hat as he won the fifth title of great Wimbledon Championship after defeating tennis legend Roger Federer with the close margin of 7-6 (7-5), 1-6, 7-6 (7-4), 4-6, 13-12 (7-3) in 4 hours and 57 minutes of action. The battle at All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club set everyone’s heart on fire as the final encounter was a nail-biter for all the tennis fans across the world. That match between the two legendary players will be remembered for ages.

Apart from the World No. 1 Serbian tennis player, Swiss veteran Roger Federer and Argentine professional Juan Martin del Potro have also pulled out from the ATP Masters 1,000 tournament. Porto who is suffering from painful knee injury also needs a few more weeks to get back on his feet and perform in court.

Here’s see the main entrants in ATP singles at Rogers Cup starting from August 5th in Canada:

ATP men’s singles main draw entrants  

  • Second-ranked Rafael Nadal (Spain)
  • Fourth-ranked Dominic Thiem (Austria)
  • Fifth-ranked  Alexander Zverev (Germany)
  • Sixth-ranked Stefanos Tsitsipas (Greece)
  • Seventh-ranked Kei Nishikori (Japan)
  • Eighth-ranked Karen Khachanov (Russia)
  • Ninth-ranked Fabio Fognini (Italy)
  • Tenth-ranked Daniil Medvedev (Russia)
  • 11th-ranked Kevin Anderson (South Africa)
  • 13th-ranked Roberto Bautista Agut (Spain)
  • 14th-ranked Borna Ćorić (Croatia)
  • 15th-ranked John Isner (America)
  • 16th-ranked Marin Čilić (Croatia)
  • 17th-ranked David Goffin (Belgium)
  • 18th-ranked Gaël Monfils (French)
  • 19th-ranked Milos Raonic (Canada)

ATP women’s singles main draw entrants

  • Top-ranked Ashleigh Barty (Australia)
  • Second-ranked Naomi Osaka (Japanese)
  • Third-ranked Karolína Plíšková (Czech)
  • Fourth-ranked Simona Halep (Romania)
  • Fifth-ranked Kiki Bertens (Netherlands)
  • Sixth-ranked Petra Kvitová (Czech)
  • Seventh-ranked Elina Svitolina (Ukraine)
  • Eighth-ranked Sloane Stephens (America)
  • Ninth-ranked Serena Williams (America)
  • 10th-ranked Aryna Sabalenka (Belarus)
  • 11th-ranked Anastasija Sevastova (Latvia)
  • 12th-ranked Belinda Bencic (Switzerland)
  • 13th-ranked Angelique Kerber (Germany)
  • 14th-ranked Johanna Konta (Great Britain)
  • 17th-ranked Madison Keys (America)
  • 18th-ranked Caroline Wozniacki (Denmark)